What is the CDDO?

A Community Developmental Disability Organization (CDDO) is the single point of application, eligibility determination, and referral for individuals and families to obtain services through the developmental disability system in the State of Kansas. CDDOs determine whether a person qualifies for services and work with the person and/or their family to choose from a variety of service options, and refer those persons to other community resources if additional supports are needed.

Kansas currently has 27 CDDOs, each of which are assigned a particular county or group of counties in which they are the primary provider of “gatekeeping” services. The Tri-Ko, Inc. CDDO service area includes Miami, Anderson, and Linn Counties.

View a map of Kansas CDDOs


CDDOs are responsible for:

  • Implementing Policies and Procedures
  • Reporting information to the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)
  • Organizing Council of Community Members
  • Organizing a local Quality Oversight Committee
  • Ensuring Equal Access to services
  • Completing Initial and Annual Reassessments (BASIS) to ensure continued functional eligibility for I/DD services.
  • Annually informing individuals of available services and their rights
  • Monitoring of affiliated service providers
  • Gatekeeping for people living in an Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) who wish to access community services